Significant Sigs


    Significant Sigs from UT’s Beta Sigma Chapter: 

    The General Fraternity’s highest honor for outstanding achievements in the profession.  The 23 Honorees from UT’s Beta Sigma Chapter (and Year Earned):



    Hon. Timothy E. Irwin, '81:  UT and NFL veteran offensive lineman; Now: Judge of the Juvenile Court for Knox County.  (Year Earned: 1992).


    Kem Hinton FAIA, '77:   Principal, Tuck-Hinton Architects in Nashville. Fellow, American Institute of Architects.  (2014).


    James A. "Jimmy" Haslam III, '76:  CEO of the Pilot Flying J truck stop chain; Current majority owner of the NFL's Cleveland Browns.  While at UT, Haslam was roommates with Bob Corker, '74, now a U.S. Senator who was named a Significant Sig in 2003.  (Haslam earned his in 2011).


    Kenneth A. Cutshaw, '75:  President, Int'l for Quiznos, 2012 - Present.  EVP of Church's Chicken, 2005 - 12.  (2011).


    Scott Parks LeTellier, '75:  Longtime sports-organization executive; CEO, Big League Dreams USA;  Former Managing Director, World Cup USA 1994.  (1994).


    Robert P. Corker Jr., '74:  Former Mayor of Chattanooga; Now: U.S. Senator (Tenn.).  (Year Earned: 2003).


    Robert A. McCabe Jr., '72:  Longtime Officer with First American National Bank; Now: Chairman of Pinnacle Financial Partners, Nashville's largest locally headquartered bank.  (2007).


    Bobby Ogdin, '66: One of Nashville's most successful recording-session keyboard musicians; former member of The Marshall Tucker Band; Recorded/Toured with Elvis.  (2015).


    B. Tom Collins, '65:  Country Music Producer (Barbara Mandrell, Ronnie Milsap, Tom T. Hall, Charley Pride).  (1983).


    William E. Wade Jr., '64:  Longtime executive, and President, ARCO (petroleum).  (Year Earned: 1998).


    James E. Hall, '63:  Leading expert on transportation safety and security, crisis management and government;  Chairman of the U.S. National Transportation Safety Board (1994 to 2001).  Served as 1963 Consul.  (1996).

    Hon. James H. Jarvis II, '59: Senior United States Chief District Judge.  (1997).


    Thomas E. Bronson, '58:  All American fullback at UT;  Longtime cement materials executive;  Chairman and CEO of Meridian Aggregates Co. and Vice Chairman of Meridian's parent, MAC Acquisitions, Inc.  (2004).

    John T. Majors, '57:  Football All-American; former head coach, University of Pittsburg and UT.  (Year Earned: 1973).


    David E. McKinney, '56:   President of the IBM World Trade Americas/Far East Corp. and Chairman of the IBM World Trade Europe/Middle East/Africa Corp. in the 1980s.  (1991).

    John N. Wilford Jr., '55:   Science correspondent for the New York Times and winner of two Pulitzer Prizes for national reporting.  (1987).


    James A. "Jim" Haslam II, '52:  Founder, Chairman & President of Pilot Corp., Chairman of Pilot Travel Centers.  (1989).

    Hon. Francis E. “Hank” Lauricella, '52:   All-America football player   He is a member of the National Football Foundation’s College Football Hall of Fame.  He served 32 years in the Louisiana legislature.  (1983).

    William H. Lane, '45:  (Year Earned: 1979).  Need info.


    Dr. Cecil C. Humphreys Sr., '36:  Former President, Memphis State University (now University of Memphis).  (1971).


    Dr. W. Everett Derryberry, '28:  President of Tennessee Technological University from 1940 to 1974.  As an undergrad, set an all-time scholarstic mark at UT with a perfect A record for four years.  (1977).


    Floyd B. James, '27:  (Year Earned: 1983).  Need info.


    Rufus H. Fitzgerald, '19:  Chancellor of the University of Pittsburgh from 1945 to 1955.  (1955).


    Send updates to: